Municipal Court


Mission
To provide a forum for justice to ensure that all citizens served by the City of Rockwall Municipal Court are treated fairly and equally while following the guidelines provided for due process of law. To properly administer this function, the Court must schedule offenders wishing to be heard by the Judge to appear before the Court, adjudicate the trial, collect the fines and fees from those found guilty, and issue warrants of arrest where the offender has not paid or appeared in the Court.

The Rockwall Municipal Court is responsible for the adjudication of State and City ordinance violations which are classified as Class C Misdemeanors. The court conducts hearings and trials, collects fines, issues warrants, and reports convictions for offenses which occurred within the City of Rockwall. The following information is furnished to assist you and answer any questions.

Location:
The City of Rockwall Municipal Court
2860 State Hwy 66
Rockwall, Texas 75087

Phone: (972) 771-7788
Fax: (972) 771-7739

Pay Your Fine Online...
Payment for Defensive Driving Requests and Deferred Disposition may not be paid online without having first appeared in court.

Dress Code / Court Rules
Municipal Court Calendar
Assignment of Bond Form
Discovery Request Form

 

Hours
Monday – Friday
8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Phone: (972) 771-7788

The Municipal Court observes the same holidays as other City Offices.



Frequently Asked Questions


Where do I find an approved Driving Safety Course?

The driving safety courses are provided by private industry therefore the courts can not recommend any particular school. You may check the yellow pages for your area under driving schools to locate one near you. You need to inquire at the school if the course they teach is approved for the dismissal of traffic offenses.

https://www.expresslanedefensivedriving.com/  This new link now provides e-filing with the Rockwall Municipal Court after you have already requested permission from the court to take the Driving Safety Course and the Court granting it. You can request the Driving Safety Course with any company of your choice as long as they are certified by the Texas Education Agency.

What violations may be dismissed upon compliance?

The violations below may be dismiissed with a 20$ administrative fee.

  • Expired Registration
  • Expired Driver’s License
  • Expired Motor Vehicle Inspection Certificate
  • Failure to Report Address Change

If you provide proof that the violation was corrected within 20 business days of the issuance of the citation the above offenses may be dismissed with a $20 administrative fee.


The violations below may be dismissed without a charge upon presentation of valid insurance or driver’s license to the court.
  • Fail to Maintain Financial Responsibility ( No Insurance)
  • Fail to Present Driver’s License Upon Request

The above offenses may be dismissed without a charge upon presentation of valid insurance or driver’s license to the court.


 

I received a citation for Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility (No Insurance) but I had insurance at the time I just did not have the proof. Can I have the citation dismissed?

You may have this violation dismissed for no charge upon presentation of proof to the Court that the vehicle was covered at the time of the violation. Proof must show: the vehicle, the beginning and expiration date of the policy, policy number, and name and telephone number of the agent issuing the insurance policy.

May someone else come into pay for my citation?

No, only the defendant or their attorney may bring payment to the court.


How are surcharges determined?

The Driver Responsibility Program (DRP) establishes a system that authorizes the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) to assess surcharges to an individual based on certain traffic offenses that have occurred on or after September 1, 2003. Individuals are notified by mail each time a surcharge is added to their driver record. Surcharges are in addition to other fees and do not replace a suspension, revocation, denial, disqualification or cancellation resulting from the same conviction.

This program was developed to encourage safe driving habits. It requires DPS to assess surcharges to individuals based on certain traffic offenses. These surcharges are assessed in two ways, a point system, and conviction based.

  • Points are assessed for Texas or out-of-state moving violation convictions: two (2) points for a conviction, and three (3) points for a conviction that resulted in a crash. Individuals are assessed a point surcharge annually if they have six (6) or more points on their driver record. For each consecutive 12 month period that an individual does not receive any points for a moving violation, one (1) point will be deducted from the individual’s total points.

  • A Conviction based surcharge is a result of being convicted of any of the following; Driving While Intoxicated, No Driver License, Driving While License Invalid, and No Insurance. Points are not assessed for these offenses. A conviction based surcharge will be assessed annually for three (3) years from the date of conviction. An individual also has the option to pay all three (3) years at once.

DPS offers programs that may reduce or waive surcharges. For more information about DRP, along with details on available surcharge discounts and other surcharge assistance programs, please visit,
http://www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/drp.htm.